My 2015 Books

2016 is nearly upon us, and 2015 is almost at its end. And I must say while every other year has seemed to fly by, 2015 has been the opposite. So many things, both good and bad, have happened this year. While part of me cannot wait to say goodbye to 2015, I must confess there is a part of me that is sad to see it go.

However, I am certainly looking forward to reading more in the year to come! I’ve not read much this year, I have to confess, but what I did read I was quite happy with. And I thought I would wrap up the year with a little 2015 reading review! So let’s get started!

Fangirl 

The first book I read this year was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I’m going to be honest, I read it mainly to get people off of my back, and I wasn’t sure if I would like it. But after finishing it, I have to admit that I loved it! I found I related to Cath in a way that I don’t often relate to characters in these types of books. She loses herself in the fan fictions she writes that are based on her favourite books. She uses it to escape reality, and has a social anxiety disorder. Her anxiety makes it very hard for her to do things that most would consider normal, such as eating in the dining hall. This is something I really relate to, and Rowell captured it truthfully and beautifully. I was very impressed with this book.

Tiger Lily 

I then read Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson, which I had varying opinions on. First thing you should know is that I am a huge J.M. Barrie fan, and always have been. And I am always open to re-tellings of old stories.This one was full of promise, taking place before Peter met Wendy and told from the perspective of Tinkerbell. But I found that the pace of the book was uneven. There were moments that were intensely interesting, and suddenly there would be multiple chapters that didn’t hold my attention. It’s a book I don’t regret reading, but most likely will not re-read in the future.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The next one, funnily enough, was one that I was re-reading! I initially read the Perks of Being a Wallflower when I was in the tenth grade, and I absolutely adored it. I related to Charlie in a way I couldn’t completely grasp, and reading about his emotions and journey helped me better understand my own. It is a book I turned to often in high school, especially during dark times of great need.

The Kingdom of Little Wounds 

The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal was a novel I read over the summer of this year, and in truth, it is what got me out of my reading slump. A story told almost entirely from two girls living within the castle, there are countless twists and turns that pull at your heartstrings in the most unexpected of ways. What fascinated me was how, as a reader, our opinions on the main characters could change the moment we began a new chapter. It was something I had never seen before, but (as you’ll see in a few paragraphs), I would see again.

The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy

The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy is one of those books that changed my life. Written by Sam Maggs, this how-to guide is one of the funniest and most inspiring things I’ve ever read. From tips on how to survive Cons and Expos, to explaining why we should be proud of our nerdiness, this book leaves you feeling energized and comfortable in your own skin.

I had the pleasure of meeting Sam and this year’s Fan Expo. She is just as nerdy and as awesome as the rest of us, and has definitely changed the way I view myself. Fangirl and proud.

A Song of Ice and Fire

There isn’t really a need to make this separate, is there? After all, the last four (and a quarter) books that I read in 2015 were all a part of the same series. A song of Ice and Fire. Better known as Game of Thrones. I began this crazy, heart-breaking form of emotional torture back in August, when I decided to finally start watching the show. I got through seven episodes in the first day, and began the book only a few hours later. From the first minute, like so many others, I was hooked. And why wouldn’t I be? This series has everything a person could ask for!

I think it took me so long to begin this journey because, in all honesty, it was really daunting! At 1000 pages per book at least….even a book-lover such as myself is intimidated. But after starting the show, it would have been impossible not to read the books.

I’m currently making my way through A Dance With Dragons, and my heart can barely stand it. But if I survived the Red Wedding, I’m sure I can survive this.

Thanks for reading.

Sincerely, Fiction’s Mistress

Leave a Reply

