Stardust: A Spoiler-Free Review

I loved the movie Stardust as a child. I loved the story, the romance, the world, everything about it. And until recently, I had no idea it was originally a book! So on one of my more recent trips to Coles, I decided to pick it up. Besides, I had been meaning to read one of Neil Gaiman’s novels for quite some time.

I have to admit, I was a little worried about reading it. Reading a book after watching the movie, for me at least, has always been a little difficult. Especially when the adaptation is exact. But I was happily surprised to see that the two were pretty different from each other!

Gaiman has an incredibly unique style, something I’ve never seen the likes of. He has a whimsical, fantastical way of storytelling which brings to mind fairytales, but he does not lack for romance or intellect. I think the best way to describe this novel is a fairy story for adults.

Even if you, like me, saw the movie first, you won’t be disappointed by the book. You are introduced to new and exciting characters, and some that you know, but who are very different. The world and characters Gaiman bring to life are so whimsical and lovable.

The ending did leave me surprised at first, as it felt rather sudden, but after thinking about it, it was such a perfect ending for this story. And like the whole book, it’s something you don’t see a lot of.

My only complaint about this book is that I wish it was longer! I wanted to hear more about this magical world, and these wonderful characters. I wish the adventure had lasted longer! Gaiman leaves you wanting more, but still satisfied. I don’t doubt it will be on my re-read shelf soon. 4 out of 5 stars from me. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Fiction’s Mistress

2 thoughts on “Stardust: A Spoiler-Free Review

Leave a Reply

