Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: The Ridiculous Parody You Need to Read

I really wouldn’t be able to tell you why I picked up this book. Was it because some of my favourite actors are in the film, and I simply needed to read the book before watching the movie? Was it because I wanted something new, and slightly ridiculous? Or was it mere curiosity? More than once I found myself asking “Why?” during the reading of this book. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Who would have thought it? I certainly wouldn’t have, but it’s a very odd mash-up that actually kind of works!

With the same characters in the same setting and the same time period as the beloved P&P, the only difference is the outbreak that’s been haunting England for some time now. The Bennett Sisters spent years training, and are warriors sworn to serve the Crown. Elizabeth is without a doubt the best warrior of the five, perhaps within the entirety of the story, though Mr Darcy could give her a run for her money.

It’s really the weirdest thing I’ve ever read, let me make that clear. But as weird as it was, it was enjoyable. Extremely funny. I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone who hasn’t read Pride and Prejudice, I think much of the humor will be lost on you. While the book is humorous on its own, it isn’t nearly as funny if you don’t understand the references. So many lines are taken directly from the original, with an undead twist. The first line alone sent me into hysterics. In Pride and Prejudice, the opening line is, “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” The first line in Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, however, is, “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”

This novel is full of clever contrasts such as this, and it’s what makes it so enjoyable. My only large complaint with this book is that a female warrior is expected to put down her sword when she marries. While its true that women gave up everything, their bodies included, to their husbands, it’s understandable why this adaptation would have them giving up their swords. But Elizabeth was a very strong character and warrior through this book, and I was hoping to see that they would not so easily give up that way of life. That they would follow their heart and marry, but continue to fight as much as before.

Other than that, I really don’t have any complaints about the book. Enjoyable and humorous, I would recommend this book to those who have read Pride and Prejudice, and enjoy a little bit of zombies here and there.

Thanks for reading.

Sincerely, Fiction’s Mistress

Leave a Reply

