Dear HBO, We Knew He Was Coming Back

I begin writing this post at 10:06 PM, Sunday, May 1st, 2016. I would have began earlier if I had not spent that time shaking, screaming, and trying to slow my heart rate down. Now having caught my breath (somewhat), I think I am in a decently coherent state of mind to be able to type this post.

Probably.

Apologies in advance if this makes no sense. I’m just so damn excited.

WARNING: SPOILERS ARE COMING FROM SEASON 6: EPISODE 2

A review of the full episode will come early tomorrow, I promise you. But honestly, I’m too excited right now to focus on anything else. And I need to get this out.

JON SNOW IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!

We knew it. WE KNEW IT. HBO, Kit Harington, everyone persisted that he was dead, not coming back. But clearly, after “Home” we see that was far from the truth. Of course, this is HBO, so maybe they’ll pull the rug out from underneath us but I am refusing to focus on that right now.

What an emotional moment. Fans across the globe holding their breath in anticipation. Will they really do it this early? I have to say, while I did not doubt that our beloved Jon would return to us, I had no idea it would be as soon as Episode 2!!

Davos goes to see Melisandre and I sat on the edge of my seat. This is what we’ve been waiting for. When Ser Davos mentions the Lord Commander, Melisandre corrects, “Former Lord Commander.” “Does he have to be?” The question we’ve been waiting for. We know it’s possible to bring someone back, and a Red Priestess of all people should be able to do it.

When Melisandre begins washing his body, I start to hyperventilate. We know this isn’t anything like what Thoros of Myr did. This is something different entirely. She cuts his hair, trims his beard and throws them into the fire. She presses her hands to his chest, reciting an incantation, over and over again. And finally, looking defeated, whispers in almost a begging voice, “Please”. Tormund, Edd, Melisandre leave. All that is left is Ser Davos and Ghost. And even Ser Davos gives up hope, thinking it’s over, walking out of the room, and with one last look, he shuts the door.

I’d be lying if during the scene my resolve didn’t falter. It did. Only for a second, because this is HBO after all. Could he really be gone forever? But no. Ghost sits up. And Jon gasps back to life.

And I die. I am deaded.

Technically HBO didn’t lie. They said Jon Snow was dead. They’re right. He WAS dead. But logic and recap aside, allow me to say

FJZCJKKXNLZJDFLJAW’OSJDZXMZMCX,K\;LAKSKOAKDCJLSDNVK KXNC ASOAKSDJREUWOEIPEOAJDJSJCZOIAPWEPQWIEGJFAS;KAWKDOPWDJ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That’s not nearly enough caps, but I’m sure you get the point. JON SNOW IS BACK BABY AND I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS. DOES HE REALLY FIGHT AGAINST RAMSAY BOLTON AND OH MY GOD, WHAT IF SANSA DOES ACTUALLY MEET UP WITH JON, MINI STARK REUNION, YES PLEASE. I’M REALLY SORRY FOR THIS MAINLY BEING A FANGIRL FREAK OUT BUT I CAN’T HELP IT, I AM TOO EXCITED RIGHT NOW AND I WILL GIVE YOU ACTUAL NOT FREAK OUT TOMORROW. I PROMISE.

PLEASE FEEL FREE TO FREAK OUT WITH ME AND SPECULATE WHAT’S GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT.

Thanks for reading, and HBO? Thank you. THANK YOU.

How am I ever going to last a week?

Sincerely, Fiction’s Mistress

One thought on “Dear HBO, We Knew He Was Coming Back

Leave a Reply

