Review of The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Yet another book that’s been on my shelf for far too long, The Murder Complex is something I picked up quite a while ago. But lately, I’ve been getting out of the YA genre. Don’t get me wrong, there are some that I absolutely love, but I don’t read it nearly as often as I used to. However, I finally got around to it, and it was very different from my expectations, and exceeded them without a question.

I picked up the hardcover, and it doesn’t have a synopsis of the novel on it. It has a couple of excerpts, and then a little blip on the cover that says, “She’s trained to survive. He’s programmed to kill.” With that description, I certainly wasn’t picturing Zephyr the way he was. But he was such an enjoyable character!

When we first meet Zephyr, he’s a fairly regular guy. One with a dark past, but he seems a good person. Kind and caring, someone who isn’t a fan of violence, someone who’s kind of a romantic. He was a pretty human character, which is ironic, considering. But that made his a great point of view to read from. Meadow, on the other hand, she was a little too YA for me.

I found that Meadow, while strong, was almost too much? She wouldn’t allow herself to show or even feel much emotion, which, while understandable considering the way she was raised, is just seen so often, and in my opinion, is overdone. The fact of the matter is that you can have a strong female character that isn’t a robot. In my opinion, their emotions and weaknesses make them more inspirational and strong! I can relate to them. I just can’t relate to or really like a character, at least a protagonist, that tends to lean to the apathetic side, and for me, Meadow did. Though she was the protagonist, she didn’t feel like one. Not to mention her relationship with her sister. Another thing that I find very overdone with YA books. The protagonist pretends or actually doesn’t care about anyone, except for their little sibling, and that stops their whole world. It’s been overdone one too many times for me.

The book was YA, so, for YA it was very good. And the concept was truly interesting. The Murder Complex itself gives an intriguing and troubling dilemma, and I really liked how that was done. I also liked how Cummings adapted the language. Curse words often used are ‘skitz’ and ‘flux’, which could have just been changed for want of less vulgarity, but either way, I thought it worked well. While the beginning and middle of the novel kept you on your toes, I found the ending to be a little predictable (also typical with YA). Overall, I’d give this book a 3 star rating.

As far as the sequel goes, if I see it I may pick it up, but despite the cliffhanger ending, I’m not jumping to go and buy the next book. But I have recently experienced a sequel that was a hundred times better than the original, so please, if you’ve read the sequel to The Murder Complex, let me know your thoughts! Is it worth the time? Or should I just leave it alone? Let me know!

Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Fiction’s Mistress

2 thoughts on “Review of The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

  1. First of all, I’m with you when it comes to not feeling YA so much anymore. I haven’t outgrown it exactly, I’m just finding it difficult to find a unique YA that keeps me wanting to read. Unfortunately, I’ve grown sort of accustomed to skimming through the book I’m reading (I did with The Murder Complex), which sort of sucks. Let me know if you want to read the sequel and I’ll lend it to you if you don’t feel like buying it. I probably wouldn’t now either; I bought The Death Code when it came out and I can’t even remember why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally went through that skimming phase too, I just couldn’t find a book to keep me hooked for a while there! And its so hard! There are some YA novels I always will enjoy, but so many of them are repetitive. It’s frustrating.
      And thanks, I definitely will! But honestly, I feel like it isn’t even worth my time, which sucks :/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

