Featured On Underwire

Hi Puddins! It’s been nearly 2 weeks since I cosplayed Harley Quinn at Fan Expo Canada, and it has been a busy time! From catching up on my posts here along with the other sites I write at, to getting all of my cosplay pictures together and organized, I feel like I’ve been going non-stop. But hard work pays off, and I have some pretty cool news!

At Fan Expo, while cosplaying the wonderful Harley Quinn, I was stopped by the lovely members of the Toronto Feminist Collective (or TOFEMCO), asking if I would be interested in doing an interview about cosplay for their podcast. As a feminist and a new cosplayer, I was over the moon. And the episode is now up!

underwire-by-tofemco

You can get it right here on iTunes, and for those of you who don’t know, all iTunes podcasts are completely free to listen and subscribe to. And Underwire is definitely one to listen to regularly!

Feminists get a bad reputation because of extremists (isn’t that always the way?) but TOFEMCO stands for equality, which is what feminism truly is! In this episode, they talk about genderbending and crossplay, and speculate why we see it more among women than men. They interview the amazing cosplay duo Laurabel cosplay and also discuss sexual harassment at conventions. My favourite portion, however, has to be their take on “sexy” cosplay. So many cosplayers get a lot of hate for having provocative cosplays, but Underwire has such a fresh, non-judgmental and really accepting take on the issue! I feel quite honored to be asked to share my opinions on cosplay, and I hope you’ll listen in!

Thanks again to the wonderful TOFEMCO for featuring me, and keep up the amazing work! You can check them out on Twitter and on Instagram.

Be sure to follow me for updates on my cosplay endeavors as well:

Facebook: Fiction’s Mistress

Twitter: Ms_M_Fiction

Instagram: Fictionsmistress

Thanks for reading, Puddins!

Sincerely, Fiction’s Mistress

Leave a Reply

