Review Of “Fyre” By Katherine Bogle

Wow, wow, wow, wow, wow!!! That is what I have to say after reading Fyre, the latest of Katherine Bogle’s work.

When the wonderful Kat Bogle asked me if I wanted to review her new book, Fyre, I was beyond stoked. I’d read her first book, Haven, last year, and if you recall, I really enjoyed it. As her first work, I was impressed. My biggest criticism, however, was that I wanted more. Parts of the story felt rushed, overlooked, and it was such an intriguing tale that I wished Bogle had taken her time with it. As it turns out, my wishes were granted in the form of Fyre, which Bogle was gracious enough to send me an ARC of. So if you’re wondering if it’s worth the read, let me do what I do best, and break it down for you.

giphy

Fyre acts as more of a prequel than anything else, a collection of short stories that takes place both before and during the events of Haven. There are four tales all together, and each focuses on a different sibling – a format that worked wonders for Bogle. I think what I loved most is that there is something there for everyone. Not only does it allow a deeper insight into Haven’s past as well as her family’s, details that will surely prove their importance in the sequel, Savages, but it also gives us new characters that we not only love, but that may become our favourites!

If you want something short and sweet that acts as an origin story,and gives us a little insight into Haven’s childhood, then the first tale, “The Birth of an Immortal Queen” is for you. It introduces us to her siblings, characters we didn’t get a chance to meet/know in the first book, and we get to see Haven come to grips with who she is for the first time.

The second and third tales allow us to spend time with her older brothers, Lucian and Marcel. While it was nice meeting Lucian, as a character I found him to be predictable, but surprisingly, this was something I was okay with. I think that was his purpose. As the heir to the throne, he is a young man who is forced to grow up all at once, and this is a character we’re very familiar with as it’s been written so many times. But as I said, it didn’t take away from the story.

Marcel, on the other hand, proved to be an exciting character with an unpredictable story. Bogle crafted this tale perfectly, with twists and turns all over the place! There’s so much more I want to say, but I’ll let you read it yourself! Just trust me when I say it does not disappoint! It was definitely one of my favourites, second only to the final story in the collection, all about Haven’s sister, Astrid.

Astrid begins as your typical princess. She isn’t trained in any arts of war, she’s a little spoiled, as well as a little naive. But when tragedy after tragedy strikes, Haven takes matters into her own hands and sends Astrid away to the mountains with a very small guard for her own protection. While Astrid understands Haven’s reasoning, she can’t help but be bitter knowing the life she’ll be forced to live, perhaps for decades. She has to come to grips with her new life but more importantly, herself. We watch as Astrid blossoms into this completely different woman and gain so much skill and character! She’s without question one of my favourite new characters, and I really hope we see more of her soon!!

As far as criticism goes (this is a review, after all), I don’t have a lot! I did find multiple spelling mistakes, so I would urge Bogle to proofread even more carefully! It’s a small thing, I know! But it does take me out of the story, so I would watch that. My only other problem with Fyre actually was the name of a setting. Parts of the second and third story take place at what basically serves as a point of retreat, called Helms Keep. Some of you may be tilting your head at the familiar name. You aren’t the only one.

For any Lord of the Rings fans out there, you’ll know very well that one of the biggest and most epic battles of the series took place at Helm’s Deep, the largest fortress of Rohan to which its people retreated during the events of LOTR. A battle where the heroes are outnumbered in a place of retreat, Helms Keep sounded and felt a little too familiar for my liking. It could be nothing more than coincidence, but it is something that Bogle might want to watch out for in future works.

Other than those small criticisms, I have nothing else to say against this book. I absolutely loved it. It was such an enjoyable read, and one that’s so easy to get through! Filled with the beautiful details we’ve been asking for, anyone who loved Haven will simply adore Fyre. Short but immersive, it’s exactly what the readers needed. As a reviewer, I have to give it 4.5/5 stars. But as a fan? A perfect 5/5. Keep up the wonderful work, Katherine, and thanks for the ARC! I can’t wait until Savages!!

ready

As always, thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Fiction’s Mistress

Leave a Reply

